Got Coupons?

I’m so hooked!  I’ve been trying to get the hang of this couponing thing for a few months now.  I went to a “Southern Savers” seminar a few weeks back and it was well worth it.  I’m getting my system down, and it’s really starting to pay off.   My cupboards and freezer are pretty well stocked, and my food and household expenses are coming in under budget this month.  I’ve gotten to where I spend between 1 and 2 hours gathering and sorting my coupons, preparing my list, and making my plan of action for the stores.  After much trial-and-error, I’ve decided my time and money are best spent at Publix and CVS.  With this new system, I’m in and out in less than 30 minutes — and I am far less likely to impulse shop.

Southern Savers is the coolest thing.  Half the work is done for me by the owner of that site.

After several months of this, I’ve decided it will take something really special to get me to shop at Aldis, Kroger or Food Lion.  I know because I’ve been tracking my receipts to see how everything compares.  They just don’t have the overall deals I can get at Publix (and I Love Publix’s  service and quality of food, too) and CVS is all about the freebies and almost freebies I can get with Extra Care Bucks.  You wouldn’t believe how much toothpaste, shampoo, and deoderant I have stocked for free or close to it.  FUN!

This was a good week at Publix:

Trip #1

1.17 bread

1.19 eggs

1.69 carrots

2.29 milk

free 6-pack water

free Honey Bunches of Oats

3.00 1 lb gourmet coffee Joffrey’s

1.00 Marzetti bl ch. dressing

1.00 ”           ”

0.19 Mt. Olive dill pickles

1.00 Sabra hummus

1.00 ”

1.29 mand oj fruit cups

0.24 butter quarters

0.75 Spray-n-Wash

before coupons and store specials — $51.17

with coupons and store specials$16.66

savings of $35.13

Trip #2

5.00 32 oz. bottle Pomp. EVOO

5.00  ”               ”                      ”

.75  Keebler cookies

1.50 SL pound cake

1.50 ”         ”            ”

1.65  SL cheesecake

.99    SL cheescake bites

2.00 salad in a bag

free Lysol disinfecting wipes 80 ct.

3.47  gr. beef

before coupons and store sales:  $54.56

after coupons and store sales : $24.36

savings of: $30.36

I saved over $60 for about an hour’s worth of my time.  And because I went to the store with a plan, I was in and out in about 15 minutes each time.  My newly refined system is working!


1 Comment

Filed under Coupons

One response to “Got Coupons?

  1. wow, denelle, that’s great. i used to coupon a lot but once we changed our diet, i found that i didn’t use those types of products anymore. so now we just go totally broke on food! glad to find your bloggy blog.

Leave a Reply

